University of Maryland-Phillips Collection Book Prize

Center for Art and Knowledge

The University of Maryland and Phillips Collection Book Prize supports publication of a first book by an emerging scholar. The Center offers a biennial book prize for an unpublished manuscript presenting new research in modern or contemporary art from 1780 to the present. Preference is given to applicants whose research focuses on subjects related to the Phillips’s areas of collecting. Scholars who received their PhDs within the past five years are strongly encouraged to apply. The winning book will published by the University of California Press, in collaboration with the University of Maryland and The Phillips Collection.  The winning author will also receive a $5,000 cash prize.

Alicia Volk, In Pursuit of Universalism: Yorozu Tetsugoro and Japanese Modern Art

Terri Weissman, The Realisms of Berenice Abbott

André Dombrowski, Cézanne, Murder, and Modern Life

Lauren Kroiz, Creative Composites, Modernism, Race, and the Stieglitz Circle

Robert Slifkin, Out of Time: Philip Guston and the Refiguration of Postwar American Art

Charles F.B. Miller, Radical Picasso: Surrealism and the Theory of the Avant-Garde

Joyce Tsai, László Moholy-Nagy: Painting after Photography

Lynda Klich, The Noisemakers: Estridentismo, Vanguardism, and Social Action in Postrevolutionary Mexico (1921-1927)

The deadline to apply in 2016 has passed. The next application deadline is September 15, 2018. 

To apply, submit the following documents:

  • a cover letter
  • a curriculum vitae
  • a book proposal (no longer than ten pages), including a statement of the book’s significance in the context of the existing literature on modern and/or contemporary art
  • outlines or abstracts of all the chapters
  • three letters of reference
  • a timeline for completion of the manuscript
  • one completed chapter.

Submit all application materials electronically in one PDF document to Letters of recommendation may be submitted together with the application materials or sent separately by the recommenders to the same e-mail address.